New captain Rishabh Pant to play 9 IPL captains in this season

There are now only 10 days left for the start of the Indian Premier League 2021. All the teams are ready to win the title. Delhi Capitals have also made Rishabh Pant the captain. Rishabh Pant will get the full support of 9 former captains included in the team. All these 9 people have played at the international level and in the IPL. In such a situation, Rishabh Pant is set to create history by winning the title.

Shreyas Iyer will not be in this season

Shreyas Iyer, who was the captain of the Delhi Capitals last season, has been ruled out of the IPL this season due to a serious shoulder injury. During the ODI series against England, Shreyas Iyer was injured in an attempt to stop the boundary during fielding. They will now have to undergo surgery. Due to this, Shreyas will not be available in this season of IPL.

Pant gets the captaincy in place of Shreyas

In the absence of Shreyas, young player Rishabh Pant has been given the captain of the team. Rishabh Pant’s leadership in Australia has shown leadership quality, given his stellar performances against Australia in December and more recently against England. There were speculations that either Ajinkya Rahane and Steve Smith could get a captain. However, the team management has given confidence to Pant, giving him confidence.

Pant can create history by winning the title

It is a relief for Rishabh Pant that there are 9 such people in his team who have been captained at the international level and in the IPL. His experience makes Rishabh Pant’s claim to win the title strong. If Rishabh Pant manages to win this season, he will be called the youngest IPL winner. Rohit Sharma, the youngest, has done this feat at 26 years. At the same time, Rishabh Pant is only 23 years old.

These 9 former captains included in Delhi capitals

Ajinkya Rahane, who has been involved in the Delhi Capitals squad, has captained India’s test team. Steve Smith has been the captain of Rajasthan Royals with Australia’s captain. R Ashwin has been the captain of Kings XI Punjab and Shikhar Dhawan Sunrisers Hyderabad. Shemron Hetmeyer has captained the West Indies and Prithvi Shaw in the India Under 19 World Cup. Apart from this, Ricky Ponting has been the captain of the IPL along with the captain of Australia. Bowling coach James Hopes has also been the captain of Delhi in the IPL. Fielding coach Mohammad Kaif has captained India in the Under-19 World Cup.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button