Bengal polls: In the third phase, the fate of 205 candidates will be contested in 31 seats.

In West Bengal on Tuesday, the contest between Trinamool Congress (TMC) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in more than 20 of the 31 seats going to the third phase of voting will be closed due to their demographics. Constituency and strong presence of benches.

Elections will be held in Hooghly, South 24 Parganas and Howrah districts. Of the 205 candidates in the race, only 13 are women. The Election Commission of India (ECI) has deployed more than 62,000 Central Armed Police personnel for the third phase.

Like the second phase, restrictive orders will be implemented under Section 144 of the Code of Criminal Procedure (Cr.PC) around 10,871 polling stations in three districts on Tuesday to prevent assembly of more than four people.

In the third phase, the number of voters is 78,52,425, of which slightly less than half are women while 243 are of third gender.

In Hooghly district, where eight seats go to the polls, the BJP took a huge lead in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. Actor-turned-leader Lockett Chatterjee managed to capture the Hooghly Lok Sabha seat, while the BJP lost the Arambagh seat by only a thousand votes.

Chatterjee, who is one of the four BJP Lok Sabha members contesting in the eight-phase elections, has been elected from the Chinsurah assembly seat which is part of his Lok Sabha constituency.

Promised to implement the new citizenship law in Bengal, if it comes to power, the BJP has set its eyes on the Scheduled Caste population, for whom Dhaniyakhali, Gogat and Arambagh seats are reserved.

All the parties say that Arambagh is likely to have the most fierce competition. TMC has fielded Sujatha Mandal Khan, wife of Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha (BJYM) state president and Lok Sabha member Soumitra Khan, from this seat. Sujata Mondal Khan joined TMC in December after her husband sent a legal notice for divorce following a marital dispute. He announced his decision during a press conference, making the incident the first of its kind in Bengal politics.

BJP’s Rajya Sabha member Swapan Dasgupta, who resigned from Parliament to contest the local elections, is contesting against Tameeswara seat of Hooghly district against Ramendu Singha of TMC. Dasgupta told local media during the door-to-door campaign on Saturday, I tried to meet as many people as possible.

Former BJYM state president Debjit Sarkar is contesting for Jangipara seat. He said, I contested from the local Lok Sabha seat, but now the situation is completely different. I have felt tense in some areas, the government, which could not win in 2019, told HT on Monday night.

In Hooghly district, the Communist Party of India (Marxist), or CPI (M), is contesting only Arambagh and Tarakeswar seats.

In South 24 Parganas district, where more than 16 assembly constituencies are going to the polls, many are part of the Diamond Harbor Lok Sabha constituency organized by Abhishek Banerjee, nephew of Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee. The chairman of the youth wing of TMC held five rallies and roadshows for campaigning at 5 pm on Sunday.

The district with 31 assembly constituencies is the TMC stronghold. In the 2016 state elections, the ruling party won 29 seats. In 2019, when the BJP won 18 of the 42 Lok Sabha seats in the state and made a dent in the adjoining North 24 Parganas district, voters in the South 24 Parganas remained loyal to the TMC. Abhishek Banerjee won from Diamond Harbor for the second time with a margin of 300,000 votes.

Muslims comprise a large proportion of the population in several assembly constituencies such as Canning East, Baruipur East, Baruipur West and Diamond Harbor. While this may make it easier for the TMC to fight, as Muslims have consistently supported the party, allegations of corruption during the relief distribution for the victims of Cyclone Amfan made the BJP and the Indian Secular Front the main electoral issue set up by Maulvi Abbasuddin .

Magrat East, Bishnupur, Mandirabazar, Jayanagar, Basanti, Kulatli and Canning West are reserved for scheduled caste candidates. In these seats, the Left parties had a strong presence till 2016 and the Marxists are desperate to make a comeback. In Raidih, CPI-M veteran and former minister Kanti Ganguly is contesting the seat again.

The CPI (M) is contesting nine seats in the South 24 Parganas, including Kulatli, which has seen violence in almost all elections in the recent past. On Monday evening, BJP and TMC activists exchanged allegations of violence in Kultali.

In Howrah, where TMC has a strong presence, only seven seats are going to the polls. Of these, the BJP intends to give a tough fight to Udayanarayanpur, Jagataballapur, Uluberia North and Uluberia South, although the size of the Muslim population in these areas may pose problems for the saffron camp.

Actress Tanushree Chakraborty, who joined BJP in March, has been fielded from Shyampur.

The ECI has organized the International Virtual Election Visitor Program (IEVP) 2021 for foreign election management bodies during elections in four states and Puducherry on Tuesday.

The ongoing elections in Assam, Kerala, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu and West Bengal have more than 187.2 million voters, making it one of the largest in the world to vote amid the Kovid-19 epidemic. ECI said in a statement, this is a good opportunity to share the conduct of our voting process as well as the experience and experience of our voting process.

Over 106 delegates from Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Republic of Korea, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Mongolia, Nepal, Panama, Philippines, Romania, Russia. The statement said that South Africa, Suriname, Ukraine, Uzbekistan and Zambia are going to participate in IEVP 2021.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button