Ben Stokes caught salivating over ball, umpire warns, 5 runs to be fined

England all-rounder Ben Stokes was caught salivating at the ball during the second ODI against India at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune on Friday.

On-field umpire Virender Sharma was quick to spot the error and decided to warn Stokes to accidentally apply saliva to the ball.

The protocol required the ball to be sanitized and the umpires also informed England stand-in captain Jose Butler that a similar offense would cost them a five-run penalty.

This happened in the fourth over of India’s innings. Reece Topley had just bowled a dot ball when India had gone 8 for no loss and the ball went to Stokes in the slip cordon, who accidentally applied saliva to the ball.

Saliva was banned after cricket was restarted after a long break due to the Kovid-19 epidemic.

Interestingly, this was not the first time Stokes had been warned to apply saliva to the ball. The England all-rounder made the same mistake on the first day of the Pink Ball Test between India and England in Ahmedabad.

England got off to a good star after India’s opener Shikhar Dhawan was dismissed early. England won the toss in the second ODI and opted to bowl first.

England regular captain Eoin Morgan batted in an unsuccessful chase for England as the series opener, despite splitting the webbing between his thumb and index finger, which required four stitches. David Malan was included in the team as a cover.

Sam Billings suffered a shoulder injury in the field and England awarded Liam Livingstone an ODI debut. Reece Topley came on for fast bowler Mark Wood.

India made a change after Shreyas Iyer was ruled out due to a shoulder injury. Iyer fell awkwardly on his left shoulder, fielding in the first ODI and it would be the entire IPL for the series and the Delhi Capitals.

Iyer was replaced by wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant in India’s starting lineup.

India XI: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (Captain), Lokesh Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Shardul Thakur, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Praseed Krishna.

England XI: Jason Roy, Johnny Bairstow, Ben Stokes, Eoin Morgan (captain), Jose Butler, David Malan, Moin Ali, Sam Curren, Tom Curren, Adil Rashid, Reef Topley

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button